Is That Lion Smoking a Pipe?

On a recent visit, I gave my nieces and nephew a book by one of my favorite authors from childhood. Richard Scarry’s Best Storybook Ever is chock full of inventive and fun stories and characters. At 280+ pages it provides hours of enjoyment for kids.

Photo, cover of Richard Scarry's Best Storybook Ever

Cover of Richard Scarry's Best Storybook Ever

However, those classic stories contain things we as kids never thought about, but today are quite novel. My sister-in-law has informed me that my nephew now has his stuffed animals smoking pipes. Just as those bears, rabbits, mice and lions are illustrated smoking pipes. Yikes! You never know what will resonate with kids.

2 Responses to Is That Lion Smoking a Pipe?

  1. Sarah Delia says:

    I doubt that in the long run the pipe smoking will do no harm.

  2. Jen says:

    Now Sam is worried about Capt James Hook and his hook! He know that gator is going to come back and eat the other hand too. I say, having to explain these fairy tales to death makes me think Sam won’t like them in the end. So far though he still asks me to read them to him and eventually accepts them for what they are. It just takes getting there first!

Leave a Reply

